States With Strict Cannabis Laws

Cannabis is trending, stigma is shedding--but in some states more than others. As cannabis remains federally illegal with THC potency above 0.3% (which is a large majority of available cannabis/hemp derived products), it can be a bit hard to keep track of where safe access exists.

Therefore we decided to give you a list of the strictest states when it comes to cannabis policy, thanks to the wonderful staff over at Wikileaf.

Arizona

Arizona cannabis law is pretty strict. They have a medical program that allows cardholders to buy up to 2.5 ounces every two weeks, or grow 12 plants if 25 miles or so away from a dispensary. If you're not a medical patient and are found with any amount of cannabis in any situation, it becomes a Class 6 felony. This is the least serious offense and brings about a $1,000 fine and minimum sentence of 6 months.

Georgia

Only recently with the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill, this state has passed a medical CBD law allowing for the use of cannabis extracts that are high in CBD and low in THC in instances where a physician has recommended such treatment to a patient with a state-qualifying condition. Aside from that, if you’re caught with an ounce or less, you could get a year sentence along with a $1,000 fine. Anything above an ounce is a felony, starting at 1-10 years and $5,000 in fines.The sale of any amount is also a felony in Georgia.

Idaho

Possessing three ounces or less of cannabis in Idaho will get you a misdemeanor, with up to a year of imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. Anything beyond that is considered a felony. Selling any amount of weed starts at a year of imprisonment, with up to $50,000 in fines.

Even CBD is not tolerated in Idaho, despite the 2018 Farm Bill which legalized hemp derivatives, including cannabidiol, across the United States.

Virginia

If you get caught with half an ounce or less, the first offense could be 30 days imprisonment and up to $500 in fines. The second offense of this amount leads to a year of incarceration and up to $2,500 in fines. While there was a recent push to pass legislation to legalize and decriminalizethe plant, it failed.

Wisconsin

Any amount found in your possession can land you a misdemeanor with up to six months incarceration and a $1,000 fine in Wisconsin. Even worse, any subsequent offense with any amount is considered a felony with to 3.5 years incarceration and $10,000 in fines. It is said in the industry that Wisconsin is pretty behind the trend.

While regulation may take years upon years to align itself across the nation, we're happy to see the beginnings of it take off in our home state of CA. Keep advocating for cannabis derived medicine, research and development. Be safe and enjoy your HERB!

Information courtesy of Wikileaf and NORML.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square